Álvaro Siza

(b. 1933, Matosinhos, Porto, Portugal) is one of the most acclaimed contemporary architects, the Pritzker Architectural Prize laureate in 1992, the architectural equivalent to the Nobel prize. A leading light of the Porto School, his work is recognised for its particular attention to the location, austere beauty and definition in the smallest details. Siza’s oeuvre began in 1954 with the Boa Nova Tea House (1958-1963) and the Leça Swimming Pool (1961-1966), but his international recognition was only achieved in the 1980s, designing buildings around the world. He is a recipient of the RIBA Prize (2008), Golden Lion of the Venice Biennale (2012) and the Mies van der Rohe Prize (1988). His experiments in social housing, with projects such as the SAAL housing developments following the revolution of April 1974 in Portugal, paved the way for his entry onto the international scene with buildings in Berlin, The Hague and Venice. His plan for the reconstruction of the centre of Lisbon / Chiado (1988), and designs for the Marco de Canavezes Church (1990- 1996), Portuguese Pavilion (1994-1998), Serralves Foundation Museum in Porto (1991-1999), Iberê Camargo Foundation in Brazil (1998-2008) and the 611 West 56th Street residential tower in New York (2016), reveal a modern architect firmly rooted in his country’s traditions with a particular respect for the customs and practices of his buildings’ locations.


Paulo Mendes da Rocha

(b. 1928, Vitória, Brazil), architect. Considered one of the most talented contemporary architects, Paulo Mendes da Rocha is a major name in the Paulista School, alongside Vilanova Artigas (1915–1985). His work is an endless search for modernity, to “untie the schizophrenic knot in the division between architecture and city, art and technique, art and science”. Recently he was awarded with the Praemium Imperiale Architecture of Japan, the Golden Lion by the Venice Architecture Biennale 2016, and was announced as the RIBA price in 2017. In 2006, begun his international recognition when awarded the Pritzker Architectural Prize for his work as a whole, the architectural equivalent to the Nobel Prize. The National Coach Museum, his first work outside Brazil since the Osaka Pavilion in 1970, is now open to the Tagus, to Lisbon, and to the European world. He has won various tender projects. In addition to the Brazilian Pavilion for Expo 70, in Osaka, Japan, he was an award-winning finalist for the preliminary draft of the Georges Pompidou Cultural Centre, in Paris (1971). He designed the new main building of the São Paulo University Museum of Contemporary Art (1975); as well as the Forma Furniture showroom (1987) and the Brazilian Museum of Sculpture – MuBE (1987– 1992), both also in São Paulo. He restored the oldest Fine Arts museum in the same city, the State Pinacotheque (1993), for which he won the Mies van der Rohe Award (2000); and, in 2006, he designed the Museum of the Portuguese Language, in São Paulo.


Ana Vaz Milheiro

(b. 1968, Lisbon, Portugal), architect. She is one of the main figures in architectural criticism of her generation in Portugal. In 2012, she won the Art and Architecture Critics and Essay Award from the International Association of Art Critics (AICA). A lecturer in History and Theory of Contemporary Architecture, she took her doctorate at São Paulo University FAU–USP, Brazil (2004) with the dissertation Imenso Portugal - Culturas Arquitectónicas Portuguesa e Brasileira (Immense Portugal – Portuguese and Brazilian Architectural Cultures). The pursuit of an idea of Portuguese architecture has nearly always taken her out of doors, into dialogues of an identity whose centre is disperse and tempered. She has published, among other, Nos Trópicos Sem Le Corbusier, arquitectura luso-africana no Estado Novo (In the Tropics without Le Corbusier, Luso-African architecture in the Estado Novo) (2012) and A minha casa é um avião (My house is an airplane) (2007).