Álvaro Siza

(b. 1933, Matosinhos, Porto, Portugal) is one of the most acclaimed contemporary architects, the Pritzker Architectural Prize laureate in 1992, the architectural equivalent to the Nobel prize. A leading light of the Porto School, his work is recognised for its particular attention to the location, austere beauty and definition in the smallest details. Siza’s oeuvre began in 1954 with the Boa Nova Tea House (1958-1963) and the Leça Swimming Pool (1961-1966), but his international recognition was only achieved in the 1980s, designing buildings around the world. He is a recipient of the RIBA Prize (2008), Golden Lion of the Venice Biennale (2012) and the Mies van der Rohe Prize (1988). His experiments in social housing, with projects such as the SAAL housing developments following the revolution of April 1974 in Portugal, paved the way for his entry onto the international scene with buildings in Berlin, The Hague and Venice. His plan for the reconstruction of the centre of Lisbon / Chiado (1988), and designs for the Marco de Canavezes Church (1990- 1996), Portuguese Pavilion (1994-1998), Serralves Foundation Museum in Porto (1991-1999), Iberê Camargo Foundation in Brazil (1998-2008) and the 611 West 56th Street residential tower in New York (2016), reveal a modern architect firmly rooted in his country’s traditions with a particular respect for the customs and practices of his buildings’ locations.

Paulo Mendes da Rocha

(b. 1928, Vitória, Brazil), architect. Considered one of the most talented contemporary architects, Paulo Mendes da Rocha is a major name in the Paulista School, alongside Vilanova Artigas (1915–1985). His work is an endless search for modernity, to “untie the schizophrenic knot in the division between architecture and city, art and technique, art and science”. Recently he was awarded with the Praemium Imperiale Architecture of Japan, the Golden Lion by the Venice Architecture Biennale 2016, and was announced as the RIBA price in 2017. In 2006, begun his international recognition when awarded the Pritzker Architectural Prize for his work as a whole, the architectural equivalent to the Nobel Prize. The National Coach Museum, his first work outside Brazil since the Osaka Pavilion in 1970, is now open to the Tagus, to Lisbon, and to the European world. He has won various tender projects. In addition to the Brazilian Pavilion for Expo 70, in Osaka, Japan, he was an award-winning finalist for the preliminary draft of the Georges Pompidou Cultural Centre, in Paris (1971). He designed the new main building of the São Paulo University Museum of Contemporary Art (1975); as well as the Forma Furniture showroom (1987) and the Brazilian Museum of Sculpture – MuBE (1987– 1992), both also in São Paulo. He restored the oldest Fine Arts museum in the same city, the State Pinacotheque (1993), for which he won the Mies van der Rohe Award (2000); and, in 2006, he designed the Museum of the Portuguese Language, in São Paulo.

Ana Vaz Milheiro

(b. 1968, Lisbon, Portugal), architect. She is one of the main figures in architectural criticism of her generation in Portugal. In 2012, she won the Art and Architecture Critics and Essay Award from the International Association of Art Critics (AICA). A lecturer in History and Theory of Contemporary Architecture, she took her doctorate at São Paulo University FAU–USP, Brazil (2004) with the dissertation Imenso Portugal - Culturas Arquitectónicas Portuguesa e Brasileira (Immense Portugal – Portuguese and Brazilian Architectural Cultures). The pursuit of an idea of Portuguese architecture has nearly always taken her out of doors, into dialogues of an identity whose centre is disperse and tempered. She has published, among other, Nos Trópicos Sem Le Corbusier, arquitectura luso-africana no Estado Novo (In the Tropics without Le Corbusier, Luso-African architecture in the Estado Novo) (2012) and A minha casa é um avião (My house is an airplane) (2007). 

Daniela Sá

(b. 1984, Portalegre, Portugal), architect, U. Porto. She lectures History of Modern Architecture at the U. Porto’s School of Architecture (FAUP). A researcher in the Theory and History of Architecture, she has lectured on cross-disciplinarity in Architecture, especially regarding Text and Project: IF–FLUP – Institute of Philosophy of the Faculty of Arts of U. Porto, CEAA–ESAP, TU-Delft in The Netherlands, and the U. Porto’s School of Architecture. She is co-founder and editor monade.

Gonçalo M. Tavares 

(b. 1970, Luanda, Angola), Portuguese writer. In his speech at an award ceremony for Jerusalem, the Nobel Prize laureate, José Saramago said: “Gonçalo M. Tavares has no right to write so well at only 35 years old: it makes you want to punch him!” His poetry, novels and essays have been or are being translated into 35 different languages and published in 48 countries: amounting to over 200 translations. Gonçalo M. Tavares has received various awards and prizes, including: the Prémio José Saramago 2005 and the Prémio LER/Millennium BCP 2004, (for Jerusalem), the Prémio Portugal Telecom 2007 (A Journey to India), the Prix du Melleur Livre Étranger 2010 and was a Finalist in the Prix Médicis 2010 (Learning to Pray in the Age of Technique).

João Carmo Simões

(b. 1987, Lisbon, Portugal) architect. Master degree in Architecture from DA/ UAL Lisbon (2011), and was awarded the Secil National Architecture - Universities Prize in 2010. A practicing architect, he also explores the universe of architecture through the medium of photography. His photographic eye reveals “an intense poetic sensibility he applies to very diverse building realities and their integrated vision” (João Pinharanda). Featured in internacional publications and exhibitions, he has lectured at the U. Porto’s School of Architecture, Da/UAL Lisbon and ISCTE-IUL, and participated in the 15th Buenos Aires Biennial of Architecture and the 14th Venice Architecture Biennale. He is co-founder and editor of monade

Jorge Figueira

(b. 1965, Vila Real, Portugal) architect, U. Porto. He is one of Portugal’s leading architectural critics, having written extensively on Álvaro Siza. Researcher, teacher and director of the architectural department of U. Coimbra. His incisive scrutiny of post-modern and contemporary culture has been the basis for one of the most solid and surprising contributions to Portuguese architecture and its position in the world. His publications include: A Periferia Perfeita: Pós-modernidade na arquitectura portuguesa. Anos 1960-1980 (The Perfect Periphery: Post-modernity in Portuguese architecture. 1960-1980) (2015), Álvaro Siza: Modern Redux (São Paulo, 2008), Escola do Porto: Um Mapa Crítico (Porto School of Architecture: Critical Map) (2002) and A Noite em Arquitectura (The Night in Architecture) (2007).

Paulo Tunhas

(b. 1960, Porto, Portugal) philosopher. Professor of Modern Philosophy at the U. Porto. He gained a PhD from the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (Paris), under the guidance of Fernando Gil, with a thesis on Abysses, passages, limits (1998). Living and working in Álvaro Siza’s city of birth, close to its School of Architecture, his work on thought and its objects has made him one of the most interesting Portuguese thinkers of his generation. He has published the following books: As questões que se repetem. Uma breve história da Filosofia (Questions that repeat themselves. A Brief History of Philosophy), with Alexandra Abranches (2012), O pensamento e os seus objectos (Thought and its objects) (2012) and Impasses, with Fernando Gil and Danièle Cohn (2003).

Your bag is empty
Start shopping